Tags

, ,

What happened to the glamour of the 1950’s? It used to be that we tried to impress our neighbors and friends with dinner parties and manicured yards. Now we hate having company over because of all the work that is associated with the preparation. What happened to those beautiful cocktail sets with matching shakers and glasses? What happened to those times when a person would come home from work and mix up a drink to enjoy a relaxing evening?

In today’s modern times, our after-work activities include running errands all over town, attending social and sporting events, or picking up groceries. When we get home, we have just enough time to change clothes, clean up, and grab a bite to eat. Then its off to bed.

Don’t get me wrong – there have been many good and productive changes. In addition, standards of living have improved for many people. The fast-changing world has flooded the market with a host of options for consumers. Many times we are pushed by marketers to go with the “newest” or the “greatest” products on the market. Unfortunately, these marketing buzz words do not always give us the products that best fit our lives.

With so many options for home goods on the market we can begin to decipher what our individual style is and emulate it in our own home. Personally, I am always on the hunt for the best products and options to compliment my lifestyle. I like to think that I bring back some glamour from a by-gone era. I try to throw quick and simple gatherings that leave a lasting impression on guests while sparing me the headache of preparing for weeks on end. With this blog I hope to prove that a beautiful home, garden, and life is possible without working your tail off or spending all your savings.

I have never been a person who likes “cookie cutter” anything! I strive to find the most unique and high-quality items that create a more beautiful environment in which to live my life. I may not be able to afford my dream Beverly Hills home (yet!), but that does not mean I have given up the hope of currating a home and life that I am proud of. I think that’s what we all strive for – that perfect balance of a well-designed home that shows we live our lives to the fullest.

Cheers and happy living!

-w

