You know that feeling as you flip through your favorite magazine and see a beautiful flower arrangement sitting on a table? Who has time to do that? Who can afford to have a professional arrangement? How do you even begin to make such a thing? Well today is your day friends! You have time, you can afford it, and you will make the most beautiful arrangement. This is possible, with a little patience and creativity (yes, we all have a little).

I always think it is the extra “little touches” that make ANY event special to our guests. A flower arrangement as the center piece of your next gathering brings a touch that guests will notice and most certainly appreciate. I wish I could have fresh flowers every day but that is not possible. What IS possible (and affordable!) is a simple arrangement with a large impact. I will show and explain what I do to make a great centerpiece using several artifacts I have on hand and a few fresh flowers!

Where to Begin:

To start, picking an artifact to house the arrangement is important. You want to find something that fits your house and looks comfortable.
Personally, I try to pick something that would be sitting around my house, thus making the flower arrangement seem natural and “un-staged.”
To create this effect, I’ve decided to use this aged concrete planter.

Part of the fun is choosing something unique that defines your design aesthetic. My planter had a drainage hole in the bottom so I found a bowl I had in the cupboard that inconspicuously fit inside and would hold the water. Many floral designers use floral tape and create a grid arcoss their vessel to evenly space the flowers. I did not have the tape on hand (one could use scotch tape also), so I found a metal flower frog I had stowed away. You do not need a flower frog or tape but they do help stabilize and evenly space the flowers.

I bought two dozen roses at Costco for only $16.99.
This is not an everyday occurrence so it seems more reasonable when done once in a while (and especially if its for a special occasion)!

 

 

 

 

The roses were not going to be enough to fill the whole planter, so to add interest and take up space, I ran out to my field and picked some miniature white pumpkins.

 

 

 

 

Start the Arrangement

As you start the arrangement, just remember you cannot mess this up. It may not turn out exactly how you picture, but practice makes perfect and you can always redo!!!

I always start around the edge of the vessel and work inward. On most flowers, I tend to take the leaves off the stems since an ugly leaf in a finished arrangement could ruin the whole display. Make a wreath around the edge and then keep building.

 

 

 

Here, I mixed in the white pumpkins but you can always go out to your own yard and find small sticks or unique leaves (hostas are always great) to mix in and use as fillers!

Expert tip: Roses are a nice flower to use because their blossoms are forgiving and easily conform to their surroundings.

This arrangement can be made a few days before its intended use as long as it is kept watered. I estimate that it will last at least a week looking as good as the day in which it was arranged.

VoilĂ !

Finished Decorated Arrangement 1

As you can see, I am happy with the finished product. Trust me – you will be too! The arrangement looks like a custom floral design for only $16.99! So for your next event find an artifact, choose some flowers, and begin to make an impact to remember.

Happy arranging!

-w

